Promote your events and press releases in Barnsley for FREE! Forgotten Password? | Register | Login

Explore Shopping

Talked About

Contribute +

Weather

Sun

Light Cloud

Minimum Temperature: 5°C (41°F)
Wind Direction: Southerly

Mon

Heavy Rain

12°C (54°F)
10°C (50°F)

Tue

Light Cloud

12°C (54°F)
11°C (52°F)

Add Review

Reviews for The Metrodome, Barnsley

The Metrodome Currently has an average of 2.5

Rate 0

Review by Laura Parker

Rating:

Added On:
14th, May 2017

Business:
The Metrodome

Lozprk888@googlemail.com

Rate +3

Review by Vicky

Rating:

Added On:
30th, Jun 2012

Business:
The Metrodome

This place is absolutely filthy. Changing rooms permanently stink of p**s. Only half of showers is working. The drain in the showers doesn't cope with the amount of water and there's always a puddle there. You can't understand the mentality of these people. They spent a fortune on slides and deco and didnt bother to install better showers. We go for swimming lessons there and it makes me cringe every time. In fact, since it's been reopened I haven't seen a cleaner once to mop the floor in 2 hours that we are there. We watched them finish work and start pumping water in. I kept saying to my husband, what are they doing, they haven't swept the floor or collect all durt after the workers had gone, and he said, what do you take them for? They are going to drain this duty water. Guess what, they didn't. First few weeks after reopenning the water was noticeably mocky brown and you could see some dirt under the pirate ship slide. You would have thought the person who put the netting underneath the slide could have removed the durt first. I'm speechless. They don't seem to care about public health and most importantly that of our children. I've never seen them once in many years come out and take samples of water for testing and during school holidays water in the pool gets so filthy, that after making this mistake once, some years ago, we never go there during busy times. The only reason we still go there is because there isn't much choice and kids need to learn to swim, but it disgusts me every time being there. I don't know if these people ever heard of the word hygiene or know its meaning, it's about time they looked it up.

Rate +2

Review by dave

Rating:

Added On:
22nd, Jun 2012

Business:
The Metrodome

me and my partner went on thursday for my sons 4th birthday,we payed over 11 pound only to be asked to leave after less than an hours swimming due to the pool closing, surely someone should have told it was closing in less than an hour.we complained through an email and no one has got back to us.

Rate -1

Review by mrs lawrence

Rating:

Added On:
21st, Apr 2012

Business:
The Metrodome

Went recentley went as a family to swim at the metrodrome, this was our first visit and we all enjoyed the experience. my five year old thought the pirate theme and activities i.e diving boards and water slides were great. Me and my husband took adventage of the full size pool so that we could have a decent swim. My little boy took advantage of all the pools combining serious and fun swim! the pools were not overcrowed and people were there to have fun, (noone was strutting their stuff or complaining about kids splashing). Plenty of staff are on hand too which is good, my son has since asked to go back on a daily basis! we went for a coffee and some food afterwards which was within our budget! only downside was we had to wait in a lengthy que (kids holidays) and the price could be reduced a little! but all in all it was an enjoyable afternoon and we will go again.

Rate +2

Review by binlid

Rating:

Added On:
12th, Jan 2012

Business:
The Metrodome

Hello, this sounds really bad about the shorts thing, did you think about perhaps reporting this to the Chronicle ? Just a thought but you may be more likely to get the Council's attention that way ?

Rate +1

Review by Mrs Helen Hetherington

Rating:

Added On:
7th, Sep 2011

Business:
The Metrodome

Be careful Metronome took our money would not let us in the pool and would not gave us a refund. Even though we had not used there facilities.All because my husbands swim shorts were apparently to long .Many others had long shorts on. A woman even had full trouser and sari on in the water. My husband is a normal looking man. holding our 6 month old baby. why was he picked on and no one else?

There were other men wearing the same length shorts as him. But they were not questioned. A young man covered in TATTOOS with outer long shorts on. Not even swim shorts. When I asked him he had not been questioned at all. The manager choose not to take action for 10 men I could see with long shorts.

There was even a lady wearing full lenth trousers and sari in the water. He just seemed to single my husband out. When I question him on it. He could not gave me a reason. One rule for my husband and a different one for everyone else. My children were upset that there Daddy couldn't join them in the pool's.We all got dressed and left 15 mins after we had arrived .

It should be made clear of the rules of long shorts before you enter the pool. The same rule should apply for all.I very disappointing day, with upset children all day.
Not friendly at all. Manager had no communication skills at all I think the local counsel should look into this manergers. position. Would also like to say that the place could do with a like of paint.

I would most defiantly never go there again.

Rate +3

Review by DAVID KAY

Rating:

Added On:
30th, Jan 2011

Business:
The Metrodome

staff very rude

Rate -1

Review by bradley

Rating:

Added On:
23rd, Jan 2011

Business:
The Metrodome

Its an amazing place for familes to go and spend time together and its just really fun .

Rate -1

Review by Joanna Fowler

Rating:

Added On:
15th, Jun 2010

Business:
The Metrodome

Great place for families to spend some quality time in...sports, swimming, even hairdressing.

Back to Top

« Back to Latest Reviews