Promote your events and press releases in Barnsley for FREE! Forgotten Password? | Register | Login

Explore Shopping

Talked About

Contribute +

Weather

Sun

Light Rain

Minimum Temperature: 6°C (43°F)
Wind Direction: Southerly

Mon

Light Rain

9°C (48°F)
6°C (43°F)

Tue

Light Cloud

8°C (46°F)
3°C (37°F)

Add Review

Reviews for Fairways (formerly Bluebell Inn), Barnsley

Fairways (formerly Bluebell Inn) Currently has an average of 1.5

Rate 0

Review by Ken & Sandra Clifford

Rating:

Added On:
28th, Oct 2012

Business:
Fairways (formerly Bluebell Inn)

Stayed here last night 27/10/12 and found it to be a really nice hotel. Had lunch, served by lovely staff. Went to a 40's evening in the banqueting suite then slept in our very clean, comfy room. Had a very adequate continental breakfast again served by lovely friendly staff. Thank you all.

Rate -1

Review by Rachel Beckett

Rating:

Added On:
28th, Oct 2012

Business:
Fairways (formerly Bluebell Inn)

18 of us booked in at the restaurant to celebrate my 40th birthday. We all placed our food order at the same time so that we could eat together but unfortunately this did not happen. We all decided that we would have sharing combo starters and when brought out were one short and were told we hadnt ordered that many. After gathering up receipts as proof and approaching bar staff the missing combo soon appeared! The mains came out a bit of a mish mash and were of poor quality and barely warm. As my dad put it "i've eaten here twice,the first and the last time!"

Rate 0

Review by DR ian forfitt- brown BSS MICS

Rating:

Added On:
26th, Jul 2012

Business:
Fairways (formerly Bluebell Inn)

We booked the Fairways prior to our yearly visit to see our grandsons.IT looked ok when we arrived, but then things started to go wrong.The first thing was the service in the resteraunt and then we were given the wrong food allthough we wrote our order on the order slips that were on the table {never did get my crumble pudding}.Our beds in the room were only about 3 feet wide and if you turned over in the night 'had to be carefull not to fall out. After the first night in our room .We went out and our room was suppose to be made up and cleaned.But it had only been tidyed and the beds only coverd up and not made. The breakfast waitress was very negative need i go on

Rate 0

Review by tommy

Rating:

Added On:
30th, May 2012

Business:
Fairways (formerly Bluebell Inn)

1 star and im being generous, i have worked in the hotel industry for 20 years and have never seen such a badly run place with unfriendly untrained staff, the service was non existing as was the presence of a manager. what a joke

Rate 0

Review by helen townsend

Rating:

Added On:
11th, Dec 2011

Business:
Fairways (formerly Bluebell Inn)

I was in this party. It was a disaster from start to finish. It was such a shame the assistant manager never got any help from his manager. Who was across the road serving desert...
The Fairways may look good but its service and food is really quiet discusting.
The worst service iv ever encounted

Rate 0

Review by Miss A Townsend

Rating:

Added On:
11th, Dec 2011

Business:
Fairways (formerly Bluebell Inn)

Booked a family xmas meal for 20 people 3 mths in advance,waited for 40 mins to be seated then told they had no beef or turkey for the main but we could order anything off the main menu-about 5 of us did, an hour later told they had no mixed grill or lamb chops that had been ordered so had to order again-still no starters!! Oh and the soup had changed to veg? that no one liked.Then one of our party noticed the carvery was empty. Some starters arrived about 2 hours late and were cold so some went back, never to return! I was too hungry to return mine even though the mushrooms wernt cooked properly- the carvery was going to be opened again we were told? The manager never came to the table to talk to us he sent the assistant manager that handled it very well and gave us some free bottles of wine, but he was under a lot of pressure as we were not at all happy with the service. Mains arrived 3 hours later COLD! ONE OF THE WAITERESSES TOLD US THE MAINS HAD BEEN READY FOR 7MINS BEFORE BRINGING THEM OUT AS THEY WERE SHORT STAFFED and the carvery still not open. We demanded a refund but the manager could only authorise this, 30 mins later he arrives standing at the counter with our bill for the refund,No APOLOGY looking at the floor. Very unorganised and unprofessional. They had given priority to walk in customers when they should have turned them away. Once a year my family get together for a family meal, this was ruined, my 76yr old Dad who is diabetic and of ill health was tired and hungry, he was given a bowl of chips around 2hours into this organised chaos!!!

Rate 0

Review by Adrian

Rating:

Added On:
13th, Mar 2011

Business:
Fairways (formerly Bluebell Inn)

Awful, just awful - it's only getting one staras i cant do less. Took far too long 90 mins for main meal, 45 for starter. Other customers also having same problems. Many people claiming refunds.

the food quality was very poor too. I had the belly pork which was hard as nails, the cutlery was dirty. very overpriced.

Sorry - avoid at all costs - not very good at all.

I dont normally give negative reviews just keep my thoughts to myself, but this deserves it.

Back to Top

« Back to Latest Reviews